George R. Hopkins

Reader Reviews

 
Readers' Favorite 
 Reviewed by Rabia Tanveer

Unholy Retribution: A Murder Mystery/Suspense/Thriller is written by George Hopkins. I am really grateful that there is a writer out there talking about the other side of the picture. Not all Muslims are Jihadists. In the novel, a Muslim driver is killed in cold blood. He was decapitated and Detective Adriana Perez is given the case. Her job is to find the person who has killed this innocent man and she will not hold back, not anymore. The key suspect is Jack Bennis, a priest who was also an ex-Black Ops officer. All clues point to him, but he is not the killer. Together, Bennis and Homicide Detective Tom Cavanaugh will do everything to have the real killer caught and judged for his crimes. However, with more murders and bodies turning up, Perez is under extreme pressure. Will she find the true murderer or will she become a prey to her prejudice and put an innocent man behind bars?
 
Fast paced, thrilling and very entertaining, Unholy Retribution is a great novel. It talks about the things which other writers are ignoring, and is doing a great job of it. The characters are smart, believable and very well-developed. In a time when people are against Muslims, Hopkins shows that not everyone is bad. Terrorism is a great threat to the community and religion has nothing to do with it. It is people who are bad and making things worse for everyone else. With his crisp dialogue, sound development and great writing skills, Hopkins has given us a piece of literature that reflects the truth.

Readers' Favorite
 Reviewed by Emily-Jane Hills Orford 

Unholy Retribution: A Murder Mystery/Suspense/Thriller finds Detective Tom Cavanaugh and his brother, a Jesuit priest and former Black Ops, Lieutenant Jack Bennis in the thick of things again. Only this time, the good priest has been shot while leading a service. During his recovery, Jack shares a hospital room with a devout Muslim. While he prays in the quiet of the night, someone sneaks in and kills the Muslim, beheading him and leaving the head at Jack's feet. The cops obviously assume that Jack is guilty. The leading detective has a personal vendetta against Jack's brother, so why not take the evidence as it appears. 
 
The gruesome plot intensifies as more Muslims are killed and beheaded and each time Jack is implicated. Even the reader is starting to wonder if Jack really is guilty - but of what? Whoever is killing certainly has a grudge against Muslims and, to top it off, also appears to have a grudge against Catholics, but why? Only by understanding the connection between the two grudges will the real killer be revealed. 
 
George Hopkins has written another exciting mystery/ thriller about Detective Tom Cavanaugh and Father Jack Bennis. The plot is thickened with very real scenarios and addresses very current concerns. It also provides a lesson, that evil only intensifies evil and the personal vendetta killings must stop. Not all Muslims are committed to a holy war; not all Catholics abuse children. The author has a penchant for making the characters come to life in realistic situations. This was a very troubling but also thrilling plot right to the end. Well done! 

Readers' Favorite
 Reviewed by Jack Magnus

Unholy Retribution: A Murder Mystery/Suspense/Thriller is a hard-boiled police procedural mystery written by George Hopkins. Father Jack Bennis is in a world of hurt after being shot while saying mass. After days spent in Intensive Care, he was finally moved to a semi-private room where his brother, Detective Tom Cavanaugh, and sister-in-law, Francesca, and a host of parishioners, reporters and others came to visit. The bullet had narrowly missed his heart, and he also suffered a punctured lung, so, no matter how restless the former Special Forces officer turned Jesuit priest became, he was still hooked up to more tubes and was in more pain than he cared to think about. When it finally quieted down, he wanted to simply keep his eyes closed and enjoy the solitude, but he soon felt the presence of someone else in the room. Keeping his eyes closed, he wondered what test they were planning to subject him to now; then he felt something heavy land on his lap and noticed a familiar tang in the air.
 
George Hopkins' hard-boiled police procedural, Unholy Retribution: A Murder Mystery/Suspense/Thriller, brings back Father Jack Bennis and his brother, Detective Tom Cavanaugh, and I was thrilled to see them in action once again. The author provides a whole cast of possible culprits for reader-sleuths, as well introducing Detective Perez, the angry purplehaired detective assigned to the case, who is determined to make the brothers pay for Tom's insensitive treatment of her now deceased sister. Hopkins' characters are authentic and believable, and his plot is both complex and fast-paced. I've read and enjoyed other Bennis/Cavanaugh mysteries in the past and found this one to be every bit as entertaining as its predecessors. I'm looking forward to the next book in the series. Unholy Retribution: A Murder Mystery/Suspense/Thriller is most highly recommended. 
 

 
Readers' Favorite

 Reviewed by Samantha Rivera

Something strange is going on in Tottenville. First a young woman is killed on her way home after church, and then a second woman is killed in an apparently gang-related drive-by shooting. The bodies are piling up and so are the theories. The bodies are all connected to one single case, a case that they've actually been told is the reason for everything. Now it’s up to Detective Cavanaugh to find out what’s happening and how he can stop it before it’s too late. But when you’re racing against a man who has nothing to lose, there are always a few obstacles in the game. Random Acts of Malice by George R. Hopkins is no exception to that rule.
 
Detective Cavanaugh is the type of cop that any of us would want on the case. He’s dedicated and he’s loyal. He has integrity and truly believes in doing the best job he can. That’s what makes him the perfect character for this book. Being able to see into the minds and thoughts of the ‘bad guys’ really helps draw you into the action (and there is plenty of action). No one is who they seem to be and even the least likely of characters has a hidden secret. There’s no end to the surprises in Random Acts of Malice by George R. Hopkins and no end to the adventures of each of its characters. The people at the top of the chain aren’t just looking to help some low-level criminal get revenge on the ones who put her away after all; there’s something darker at play. 

Readers' Favorite
Reviewed by  Paul Johnson - 5 Stars

It all starts when a criminal judge receives a letter from a female prisoner, telling him of a death threat another prisoner has made on his life since he was the presiding judge in her conviction of the manslaughter of a ten-month-old child. The judge isn't sure what to make of it and asks an old friend from his childhood, now a homicide detective, to investigate. The detective decides to help his old friend even though the crime is not in his district. After a preliminary investigation, he believes it may be nothing when the investigation shows the letter writer has a history of fraud and the woman who made the threats denies everything. 
 
Then, everything changes when the other people involved with the conviction begin to die at the hands of a brutal murderer. The detective and his Jesuit priest brother begin a hunt for the murderer and also the person who hired him. The priest, with a dubious background, thinks he knows the killer, an evil remorseless man who once left him for dead. As the mystery unfolds, more and more people die. Can the detective and the priest stop this ruthless killer before he finishes his mission? The judge certainly hopes so. 
 
I found Random Acts of Malice by George R. Hopkins to be a very well written mystery/detective adventure. The author has put together a good, diverse cast of characters, particularly a former Special Operations soldier, now a Jesuit priest, and his long time homicide detective brother. The plotting was good and moved rapidly along. The dialogue was spot on and a perfect fit for each character. I enjoyed it very much.


2013-2014 Reader Views Literary Award in the Mystery/Thriller/Suspense category - 2nd Place 
Reviewed by Michel Violante for Reader Views (01/14)

George R. Hopkins’ “Letters from the Dead” has four main characters: A New York City, very tough detective named Tom Cavanaugh; his half-brother, Jack Bennis who is a Jesuit Priest with a questionable past; Mary Jane MacIntyre, a 90 year old woman from a nursing home with a secret; and a serial killer thirsty for revenge for his daughter’s suicide. The reader will discover each of these characters’ stories separately though each chapter only to see them come together in one intriguing plot. Hopkins somehow managed to pull it off along with an impeccable writing style.

The story begins when Tom is transferred from New York City to Staten Island due to a conflict he had with the District Attorney during his last case in New York. After Tom leaves the City, the District Attorney falls victim to the serial killer and survives the initial attack. Since Tom didn’t have much action in Staten Island, he decides to work that case. At the same time, Tom’s half-brother Jack begins working as a substitute teacher while on leave from the Church, at the same school that Tom’s last case’s victim attended. When the people that worked that case with Tom begin to die, Jack decides to help Tom with his investigation. 

Parallel to what is going on, Hopkins introduces Mary Jane, who lives in a nursing home and has a stack of letters from her sister. These letters hold a secret that will turn Tom’s and Jack’s lives upside down. But I won’t ruin it by giving it away. I will say that Hopkins developed an intriguing thriller that kept me glued to the pages. I was not able to put it down thanks to the combination of interesting characters, pacing and suspense, along with the humor. 

“Letters from the Dead” by George R. Hopkins is definitely an excellent read filled with suspense and plot twists that will keep any reader on the edge of their seats. I strongly recommend it!


  An Exciting Page Turner
Albert Balossi - October 25, 2013

For me this book was a definite page turner.  The characters are vivid and complex, while the plot twists and turns weave a fine web of mystery and gripping suspense.  I have read Mr. Hopkins' two earlier novels and find this one an excellent sequel to them both.  I recommend it highly.

Letters from the Dead
Michel Violante for Reader Views - January 2014

George R. Hopkins’ Letters from the Dead has four main characters: A New York City, very tough detective named Tom Cavanaugh; his half-brother, Jack Bennis who is a Jesuit Priest with a questionable past; Mary Jane MacIntyre, a 90 year old woman from a nursing home with a secret; and a serial killer thirsty for revenge for his daughter’s suicide. The reader will discover each of these characters’ stories separately though each chapter only to see them come together in one intriguing plot. Hopkins somehow managed to pull it off along with an impeccable writing style.

The story begins when Tom is transferred from New York City to Staten Island due to a conflict he had with the District Attorney during his last case in New York. After Tom leaves the City, the District Attorney falls victim to the serial killer and survives the initial attack. Since Tom didn’t have much action in Staten Island, he decides to work that case. At the same time, Tom’s half-brother Jack begins working as a substitute teacher while on leave from the Church, at the same school that Tom’s last case’s victim attended. When the people that worked that case with Tom begin to die, Jack decides to help Tom with his investigation.

Parallel to what is going on, Hopkins introduces Mary Jane, who lives in a nursing home and has a stack of letters from her sister. These letters hold a secret that will turn Tom’s and Jack’s lives upside down. But I won’t ruin it by giving it away. I will say that Hopkins developed an intriguing thriller that kept me glued to the pages. I was not able to put it down thanks to the combination of interesting characters, pacing and suspense, along with the humor.

Letters from the Dead by George R. Hopkins is definitely an excellent read filled with suspense and plot twists that will keep any reader on the edge of their seats. I strongly recommend it!

Letters from the Dead
Charles Kuffner – September 12, 2013

George Hopkins takes Michael Connelly’s Harry Bosch and C.K. Chersterton’s Father Brown to a new level.  But more importantly he joins the two characters into a team of unlikely allies.

I apologize for those who do not remember Fr. Brown and of course it dates me as an old man.  However, referring to Michael Connelly’s Harry Bosch should revive my credibility.

What the reader will confront are two related men of the world whose sense of justice, ethics and consciences are honed in different life experiences.  The detective sees things through a prism of crime, violence and the legal system he doesn’t trust.  The priest is a throwback to survivors of war coming home with a desire to heal, serve and restore through prayer, the Sacraments and compassion.  Except, however, when street justice demands otherwise. 

The amount of work and research that Mr. Hopkins devotes to this intriguing story and complex characters is breathtaking.  For example, there is detailed research into Latin and its use by the killer, likewise Mr. Hopkins explores many other unusual disciplines.

Superimposed on all these complicated issues is that the detective doesn’t want the priest anywhere near this case because of the obvious dangers posed by the killer.

I wish I could be more specific about the plot, but the last thing I want to do is take away from the reader the thrill of discovery of how this crime spree is solved.

Suffice it to say that Mr. Hopkins weaves a deep, dark web of intrigue while at the same time taking you into the lives of complicated men so that you get to appreciate them more completely.

A Worthwhile Novel
Ed Quinn - September 12, 2013

Letters from the Dead is a spellbinding, complex, entertaining novel created by a gifted writer.  Multiple plots are masterfully woven until they inevitably merge, providing a worthwhile reading experience.  Descriptions of the characters, places and things are vividly painted as the mystery develops.

Generally, I am not a fan of fiction, preferring works of a political nature and biographies.  George Hopkins has stimulated a renewed interest in the mystery novel.  
Letters from the Dead is truly a worthwhile book and should be widely read.

 Fantastic!!!
Thomas Francis - June 7, 2013

It is great to stumble upon a book and author that is unknown to you!!!  By chance, I saw the book advertised and it sounded interesting -- I must say I was not disappointed.  I just received the book and I have just finished it.  It was a wonderfully written mystery / suspense novel ----BRAVO--- Mr. Hopkins.  I will look forward to your next work!

 A Good Read
Claire Coyle - June 28, 2013

I read
Letters from the Dead and loved it.  It grabbed my attention and held it until the end.  The story was intriguing and the characters were well created.  I look forward to future books from George Hopkins.  I read his first two books and this one doesn't disappoint.  I hope the next one is already in progress.

 Readers' Favorite Review
by Dr. Oliva Dsouza

Tom Cavanaugh is moved to the laid back Staten Island Police force as he refused to bow down to pressure from the political bosses to cover up the actual reasons for the suicide of Susan Lewis and make a scapegoat out of Mark Anderson. At the same time, after their adventure in Cuba, Tom's half-brother has taken a leave of absence from his duties as a priest to figure out his calling in life. Father Jack Bennis also lands up in Staten Island with Maria Isabelle, the nurse they rescued from Cuba. He takes up a teaching job at the Garfield Academy and soon things start taking a vicious turn. There is a serial murderer loose who seems to have an axe to grind with Tom. He goes on a killing spree, leaving bizarre clues mocking the police to catch him. Maria takes up a job at the home where she meets an old lady, Mary Jane McIntyre, who has a secret that she desperately wants to hide and share at the same time. How is Mary Jane related to all that is happening and are the bunch of letters that she guards with her life and soul as important as she makes them out to be? What is the killer's motive and will Tom and Jack be able to catch the killer and crack this case?

Letters from the Dead by George R. Hopkins is a thriller that entangles you in the web of intermingling story tracks and keeps you guessing till the end. A clever plot that keeps the reader engrossed throughout and leaves one wanting more. The best part of the story is the way that Father Jack Bennis logically arrives at the identity of the killer. Overall, an excellent book that is highly recommended for its plot and wonderfully crafted characters.

 Readers' Favorite Review
by Maria Beltran

Letters from the Dead is one of George Hopkins' most haunting novels. Tom Cavanaugh, an aging detective, has a serial killer case in his hands. His quest leads him to a priest, Jack Bennis, who is involved in a relationship with a prostitute and a woman, Mary Jane McIntyre, who is in possession of a series of letters from her dead sister. If these letters are made public, they will expose the secret lives of Jack Bennis and Tom Cavanaugh that both of them do not know themselves. Calling himself Lex Talionis, the serial killer murders people who he believes drove his daughter to commit suicide. After each murder, he leaves behind a note in Latin in an attempt to mislead the detectives. These characters find their lives intertwined in one of the most interesting twists ever written by a mystery novel author.

This mystery murder story has a great potential to grab the reader's undivided interest. A serial killer on the loose in Staten Island, a forbidden love, an aging detective, and the most important element, a letter that comes from the dead. All these come together to create a story packed with action and suspense. The beauty of Letters from the Dead is in the plot itself and the inner struggles that its characters are going through. George Hopkins' characters seem like real people who are trapped in a series of events that will put any person through a severe emotional and moral test. What makes it more compelling is that this is also a story of love and revenge, two emotions that oppose each other that will drive the characters to a situation where it becomes a matter of life and death. It is a revelation of how the human spirit endures. The plot of Letters from the Dead is very interesting but the twists are even more exciting.

 Readers' Favorite Review 
by Jack Magnus

Letters from the Dead opens in a nursing home where Mary Jane MacIntyre is reminiscing about her sister and gazing at the picture of herself, her sister and a young man at the beach many years before. George R. Hopkins's book is not just Mary Jane's story, however; this is a mystery tale with a crazed serial killer and the dedicated police officer, Detective Thomas Cavanaugh, who must find him. This search is not solely a professional obligation as the killer has also targeted everyone Detective Cavanaugh cares about. The murders revolve around a small private school on Staten Island. One of the students, a young woman, killed herself, and a young man, also a student, was blamed for causing her death by bullying. Cavanaugh's role in blocking an indictment against the young man led to his reassignment to Staten Island, where, ironically, the murders take place.

This is an exciting mystery that offers plenty of red herrings to mystery fans as they watch Cavanaugh and his half-brother, Jack Bennis, try to find the killer. Mystery buffs will also enjoy Cavanaugh's habit of quoting Charlie Chan throughout the work. There is a lot of action and entwined plots to keep them thinking and a number of possible suspects to consider. Cavanaugh is an intriguing character, one who I'd like to see in other mystery tales as well. His half-brother, Jack Bennis, ex-soldier and current Jesuit priest, is also compelling. Their interaction throughout the work is fun to watch. I recommend this book -- it's a lot of fun.

Couldn't put it down.
Dr. Louis Gianvito - July 1, 2013:

Finished Letters from the Dead at 3 am last night. Couldn’t put it down. Really enjoyed it. The author has some crazy imagination.  If I were his wife, I’d be afraid to go to bed with him.

Fantastic!
Erin Gilmore Smith - Sept. 17, 2013

I just finished reading Letters from the Dead - I loved it!  Seriously.  It's fantastic!  I loved the relationship between the brothers and the struggles Jack has with the priesthood.  I can't wait to order and read the other two books!

 
Hazel DeForrest Shea 

Once again, we meet the enigmatic former Special Forces expert, now a priest, Black Jack Bennis - usually known as Father John or Padre.  As might be expected, he is on the track of, and tracked by, evil forces set in motion by his past.

    His half-brother, New York City Detective Tom Cavanaugh, becomes embroiled in a possible serial-killer case, the Maple Syrup murders, where young women are killed, mutilated, then doused with maple syrup, with a note left incriminating Cavanaugh.  Much of the case takes place on Staten Island, where Cavanaugh's girl friend lives, who also happens to be the granddaughter of a mob "godfather," Vito Muscatelli, now in an Island nursing home.

    Father Bennis leaves for Cuba, for reasons both of this world and beyond, and finds he has not escaped those on his trail who would do him harm.  He finds friends in Cuba, and even begins charitable work in an Havana hospital and cathedral.  He meets Hector, a Babalawo, a Santeria priest, who encourages him in righteousness.  Not easy when the sensuous nurse, Maria Izabella, seems attracted to him.

    The story moves between Cuba and Staten Island, and the changes are never confusing, but only add excitement, as Cavanaugh follows his brother to Havana, somehow knowing he's in danger - which, of course, he is.

    The action moves quickly, with many twists and turns, revelations and interwoven plots.  The characters crackle with life, but the one who takes center stage is Father Bennis, who, in the author's words, is "Jack, the soldier, who thought he could turn to God by becoming a priest, but who continued to find himself in the killing zone."

Fellow Author
Dr. Dennis J. Carroll

  Collateral Consequences, by George R. Hopkins, reprises some of the characters appearing in Blood Brothers, his first novel.  Like Blood Brothers, Collateral Consequences is about the New York City Police Department, the Catholic Church and two Irish-American brothers, Tom Cavanaugh, a seasoned Homicide Detective and his brother, Jack , a fugitive priest living in Cuba, who function within their respective worlds.

Set against the backdrop of a serial killer operating in New York City, the novel'€™s action takes place alternately between the five boroughs of New York City and the island of Cuba.

Hopkins'€™ depictions of Staten Island, its communities and people reflect the realities of their every-day lives where his hero, Homicide Detective Cavanaugh functions as well as any cop can within a  civilian world, where we versus them is always a given.

Collateral Consequences is a contemporary journey into a private heart of darkness complicated by the pull of family loyalty, individual interests and motivations, moral choices and their ruthless disregard.

Dr. Dennis J. Carroll is the author of Cops and Priests.  His work has appeared in the Sunday New York Times Book Review and his fiction on Amazon Shorts.com. 

 
Katy Coyle

A know-it-all detective, an assassin turned priest, an angry mob boss and a sadistic serial killer.  Lives entangled by a breath of chance are about to collide head on in this tantalizing tale that will keep you guessing until the very last page.  
           
When your past haunts your present and your future is about to be cut short, the only thing left to do is fight back.  Detective Thomas Cavanaugh is being framed for murders in one country and being hunted in two others.  Jack Bennis, his half-brother assassin turned priest, is on the hit list as well.  Whether you believe in the badge or a Babalawo, justice is about to be served.
           
Detective Thomas Cavanaugh and cast live lives surrounded by murder, memories, revenge and redemption.  Embark on their journeys as they engage and entangle to reveal the true villains and the unlikely heroes.  The twists and turns will take you on a most tantalizing trip - one you won't want to miss!

Collateral Consequences has a great balance of suspense and intrigue while still being light and an enjoyable read.

A Fast Paced Thriller 
Albert Palossi – March 8, 2010

I have read many, many mystery novels over the years.  From my reading experience, I can, in my mind, separate the wheat from the chaff when it comes to judging what I like and don't like in mystery books.  Reading Collateral Consequences, I found myself right there on scene like a fly on the wall.  The tension was palpable, the suspense gripping and most of all the descriptions of characters as well as time, place and settings are painted with a fine velvet brush that makes the plot and the intricacy of circumstances truly believable for me.  This book is a gripping page turner and I found it hard to put down until the very last page had been read.  The characters come to life and are real, not shallow two dimensional cardboard figures.  The nimble writing evokes emotional tension of like and dislike in the mind of the reader as we might for the flesh and blood person we personally know.

I don't have to be a professionally trained critic.  For me judging a book is like eating ice cream.  I don't have to take a course in tasting to appreciate all the nuances of flavor.  If I like it, it's good and I want more.  As for Collateral Consequences, I can hardly wait for the sequel.

A Page Turner
Dan - June 3, 2013

If you liked "The Godfather", "The Da Vinci Code" and Staten Island, you will enjoy this read.  Thumbs up on Collateral Consequences.

Gripping 
Alexander Flint – March 6, 2012

New York City Detective Thomas Cavanaugh comes through again. Filled with exciting scenes amid a suspense filled atmosphere this sequel to Blood Brothers lives up to all my expectations. Author George Hopkins had better search for a good Hollywood agent because this is a movie waiting to be made. I can't wait to see it!

                                  

   Probing the Ties that Bond Men 
Hazel DeForrest Shea -
Staten Island Sunday Advance, April 24, 2005

Blood Brothers truly probes the myriad ties of brotherhood:  From the mob €œfamily€ and the brothers in blue, the police, to a gang of teenagers and men of the cloth, united as brothers in Christ.

The story opens with a stunning confessional scene, where, instead of repentance, a killer whispers in the dark, "€œI will kill again."

A priest, Fr. Jack Bennis, "Black Jack"€ in another life, is not the simple, holy man he seems to be to his parishioners at St. Agnes and his students at the local Catholic school where he teaches.

Fr. Bennis is called upon to preach at the funeral of mob boss Rocco Muscatelli, who was gunned down outside a lavish restaurant, where his bodyguard was also wounded.  Police are without a clue, despite teens who witnessed the crime, a mysterious van videotaping the scene, and the able, if womanizing, homicide detective Thomas Cavanaugh, who is Fr. Bennis’ estranged half-brother, on the case.

Fr. Bennis feels the need to comfort the family, longtime St. Agnes parishioners, but he agonizes over what to say at Muscatelli'€™s funeral.  As the author points out, "Words from Shakespeare, not Jesus, ran through his mind.  Tomorrow, he would go to bury Muscatelli, not to praise him.  While the evil that men do lives after them, the good they have done is often interred with their bones.  But what good had Muscatelli ever done?"€

Rocco'€™s father, Vito, now a resident of a Staten Island nursing home, and the real head of the Muscatelli family, goes into action, seeking the killer of his son, and any witnesses, such as the missing tens and the van.

Another mob murder follows, and Vito's headstrong grandson goes way beyond what his grandfather intended, resulting in another bloodbath for the police to puzzle over.

In the background lurks a true assassin the former CIA agent Howard Stevens, who once worked with Black Jack Bennis.  Hoping to enlist Jack in a secret cause, Stevens had to admit, "Men like Bennis" will ultimately always lose because they never learn that in politics and war, it is frequently necessary to rise above one'€™s principles.

Readers can admire the efficiency and cold skill of the trained assassin portrayed here, as well as the relentless ability of men of the law to track him down and corner him.  This is the game that mystery readers cherish, and the author, George R Hopkins of Prince's Bay, has drawn us into its web with a suspenseful story well told.

What more could a reader want?  Except, perhaps, an intriguing surprise ending?

A Fan of Jack Higgins' thrillers
Bob von Doussa - May 12, 2005

A thriller well worth reading I found the book a gripping read and hard to put down once started. The author's character descriptions bring each to life and the plot becomes more intriguing with each chapter. This is a thriller that will hold the reader's attention until the unpredictable and fascinating ending that I hope will lead to a future sequel. Also recommended: The Eagle Has Landed, The Eagle has Flown, The Last Place God Made, Touch the Devil, Exocet, Storm Warning, Touch the Devil.

A Lover of Good Books
Frances Hogan - April 20, 2005

Mystery and intrigue This book was not only a surprise read but it also left room for a sequel which I look forward to. I particularly enjoyed the characters which were well-developed and had interesting personalities. The plot was intriguing and created suspense. I am not familiar with this author; however, I certainly hope he continues to write. He was able to tell a story with imagination and great humor. Also recommended: DaVinci Code, Skinny Dip, Lucky You, One for the Money

I read it one day - and really liked it!
John F. McMullen - October 4, 2005

In 311 pages, Hopkins is able to blend in the CIA, NYPD, New York Mafia, Society of Jesus (Jesuits), and a 40 year old vendetta against Fidel Castro into a fast-paced mystery adventure. The twists in the story are as numerous as the bodies which keep turning up. Once I started it, I couldn't put it down. Since this appears to be Hopkins' first novel, I suggest he has a bright future.


     

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Web Hosting Companies